27 Jul 2001 The same old brand new Stefanie

The same old brand new Stefanie
July 27, 2001

http://www.mediacorpsingapore.com/entertainment/feature/2001072701.htm

Change. It happens to everyone and it is part of growing up. After stepping into the working world, people usually grow up older, wiser and worldly wise. Stefanie is no exception.

By Peng Wan Joo

Ask her to pose for a picture and Stefanie still shows off her pearly whites with the trademark V sign, just like she did a year ago when I first met her at the NDP Concert By The Bay.

null
Stefanie a year ago

null
Stefanie now

A year ago, she was a fresh-eyed ingénue. “I am so happy and proud to be able to perform here,” she gushed backstage when we interviewed her before her performance at the Carnival at the Bay.

Perky, happy and cheerful, she banters easily with my colleague and I and asked us, “Are you students? Both of you look so young!”

But when we met her at the press conference yesterday for the promotion of her new album, Stefanie looks different.

Slightly tired and seemingly more mature, Stefanie’s wide-eyed, sunny disposition has given way to a more knowing, media-weary 23 year-old. Something in her eyes that tells us that the past year as a singer has indeed enriched her life with lots of life experiences.

And it all becomes quite apparent when she goes on to chat with us during the interview session.

null

Life as a singer is tough

“I never thought life as a singer would be this tough. I used to think that a singer only needs to sing and I did not know that a singer has to do so many extra things like promote herself and promote her album,” she says with a grimace which she brushes off easily enough with a smile.

On top of making music, she has to deal with the public, the media glare and also go on Taiwanese programmes which have a reputation of making fun of celebrities.

“But it is not that bad actually,” she adds as her sunny and positive deposition takes over. “It is just chatting with people and besides, I get to travel to a lot,” says Stefanie who is glad she has become a singer because it exposes her to the way people do things overseas and widens her horizons.

null

On rumours

Maturity and perhaps the need to remain sane have made Stefanie rather nonchalant about rumours. “I think it is okay as long as I know what I did and what I did not do,” says the singer carelessly.

In fact, she thinks that the rumours (like the love triangle between her, Jay and Jolin and the rumour where she was said to be smoking 2 packets a day) don’t affect her at all and that is why, she has chosen not to elaborate or explain them.

“So what if it is true?” she questions. “To the public, my role is that of a singer. What I do in private and my inclinations has got nothing to do with my role as a singer,” reasons this business graduate with a degree in marketing.

Pressed to explain herself, Stefanie reveals that she does smoke. “But it is ridiculous for me to smoke 2 packets a day,” says the social smoker who only smokes occasionally.

“I did not want to explain myself because smoking is after all bad for health and I do not want to promote it. But I don’t think it should have any effect on my reputation or image (as a singer).”

As for the one about her love triangle with Jay and Jolin where she is said to have fallen for good friend Jolin, Stefanie sees no point in distancing herself from her pal just because of a rumour. “We laugh about it ourselves because it is so ridiculous. But honestly, I think people should respect other people’s inclinations.”

In fact, when asked to give junior, Yuki, some advice, Stefanie asked Yuki not to be bogged down by what others say about him. “People will make all sorts of comments but remember, these people are not your friends. I repeat, they are not your friends so they do not understand you at all,” she says indignantly.

null

null

null

null

null

null

null

Leave a comment