27 Jul 2001 A more confident Stefanie

July 27, 2001

Change. It happens to everyone and it is part of growing up. After stepping into the working world, people usually grow up older, wiser and worldly wise. Stefanie is no exception.

By Peng Wan Joo

On the paparazzi

Turning the talk to the Taiwanese paparazzi, Stefanie informs us that she is already a popular target of news-hungry scribes. The price of fame, perhaps. “But all they have are pictures of me shopping and eating,” she says with a somewhat triumphant smile.

While she initially felt rather scared, she says she does not really bother now. “It really isn’t a big thing unless they get photos of me coming out of some man’s house late at night,” she laughs.

The only defensive measure she takes against them is to close the windows and maintain her privacy with the curtains in her Taipei home.

“I wear very little when I am at home.” Asked about how little, Stefanie quips, “Little enough to be comfortable lah.”

“The air in Taipei is very dirty so I usually close the windows anyway. So there really isn’t much of a difference.” And to this seasoned celebrity, even if the paparazzi were to get her pictures, she will probably try to keep a nonchalant attitude.

“It is not as if I go up to them and ask them to take pictures of me in skimpy clothing. They are the ones who are invading my privacy and the ones who are at fault anyway,” she says.

null

Stefanie is more confident

And growing up for Stefanie has also makes her more confident.

“These days, I find that I am actually no longer afraid of crowds. At my recent concert in Kaoshiung, I just was just happy to be able to sing to everyone and I really enjoyed myself because I was not nervous.”

In fact, when she did not manage to read the posters which had her lyrics and thank you speech on it, she just blabbered it on. “Nevermind, just do it lah,” she said with a laugh.

The confidence has also spilled over to her music and this increased confidence is propelling her to produce albums which are ‘very her’ and not commercialized.

Says the graduate from NTU who is against making record sales as a judge of whether an album is good, “I even quarreled with my company over that but because I still belong to the recording company, I try to fight to keep the commercial hits to a minimum of 1 or 2.”

null

Things that don’t change

But despite all the growing up she has done, Stefanie is still annoyed when her family’s privacy is invaded as a result of her fame.

“I don’t think people should bother my family. There are complete strangers who go up to my sister and ask her to get me to sign some of their stuff. I mean, if they want an autograph, they should go to the autograph sessions I hold. If they want to find out more about me, they can always check with the record company.”

Once, Stefanie was so exasperated she actually came up with an ingenious way to stop people from bothering her family.

“I wrote this person a note to thank him for his support. And I added that if in future, they need any new information about me, they can go to Peifen from Warner Music,” she laughs.

Another thing that has remained constant is her deep passion for making music. “I like things the way they are,” says Stefanie who refuses to consider going into acting and refuses to lead the life of a “Heavenly Queen” even though she is now already considered a “Queen” in her own right by virtue of her strong album sales. (Her latest album Kite managed to sell 20 000 copies within a week in Singapore.)

“When you are a Queen like Sammi and Faye, you have to dress up nicely and you have a few managers following you. I don’t want to get used to a lifestyle like that because these are things you might find difficult to get rid of later in life,” she says.

“I just want to continue to make good music,” says the singer who would like to remain unchanged.

null

null

null

null

null

null

But whether you like it or not, experiences will mould and change you, Stefanie. So here’s wishing that you will change for the better and enjoy a brighter future ahead!


Catch Stefanie ‘LIVE” on Sat, July 28, 2001 at 7.30pm at Ngee Ann Civic Plaza where she will perform with dashing junior, Yuki!

Leave a comment